Legendary athletics coaches recognised by IAAF

A World Athletics Heritage Plaque awarded to six renowned coaches and to seven oldest sport magazines by the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) in recognition of their contribution to the promotion of athletics .

The coaches were awarded include Lawrence “Larry” Snyder, the trainer of Jesse Owens, the winner of four Olympic gold medals in the 100 and 200 metres, long jump and 4x100m relay at Olympic Games Berlin 1936. 

Franz Stampfl, the well-known Austrian coach who coached Great Britain’s runner Sir Roger Bannister to break four minutes for the mile. 

Ethiopia’s Woldemeskel Kostre is also recognized with the work with with Haile Gebrselassie, the winner of two Olympic gold medals in the distance of 10,000 metres and set 27 world records throughout his career.

New Zealand’s Arthur Lydiard, mentor of multiple Olympic champion, Peter Snell, who won the distance of  800m at Olympic Rome 1960 and the 800m and 1,500m at Olympic Tokyo 1964, will also be awarded with a plaque. 

Germany’s Dietrich Gerner, trainer of Brazil’s Adhemar Ferreira da Silva winner of Olympic gold medals in the triple jump at Helsinki 1952 and Melbourne 1956, and Japanese coach Yoshio Koide, who trained Naoko Takahashi to win in the women’s marathon at Sydney 2000, were made to the list of honoured. 

The Area Associations and Member Federations will work to seek appropriate public locations to permanently exhibit the six plaques, hoping to host a ceremony in each location in 2020.

The IAAF has also rewarded seven publications which have covered the Games over the last 98 years, including French magazine Athletisme and Germany’s Leichtathletik, founded in 1921 and 1925, Italy’s Atletica and Britain’s Athletics Weekly, with their first publications in 1933 and 1945, and two United States publications – Track and Field News and Runners’ World, first published in 1948 and 1966, as well as  Japanese magazine Rikujyokyogi, which has been founded since 1951.